RSS

Where’s the Real Learning?

11 Jun

By Karen Symms Gallagher

I admit it – from kindergarten on, I was teacher’s pet.  I got an assignment. I labored over it, made it perfect, turned it in early, got the A.

Until now.  Let me confess: I am a MOOC noncompleter. I had heard the hype that massive open online courses (MOOCs) are transforming higher education, and I wanted to see for myself.

I enrolled in the University of Edinburgh’s MOOC on e-learning and digital cultures, offered through Coursera. With enthusiasm I joined my 260,000 fellow students, whom I assumed shared my interest in a rigorous and rich college experience online.

On day one, I got a form e-mail welcoming me. I was to watch a few videos each week, do a few readings, and do my homework – maybe: “There are no weekly ‘assignments,’ although we do recommend trying at least two of the suggested activities. These are not assessed, but will help you to prepare for the final assignment.”

[ Full article available at Inside Higher Ed: http://www.insidehighered.com/views/2013/06/11/essay-disappointing-experience-mooc ]

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in MOOCs in the News

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
