RSS

My Problem With MOOCs

06 Aug

By Brent Chesley

Giving college credit for a massive open online course will devalue degrees, but the moment I write that, a voice in my mind asks, “Why do you believe that?”

Although I don’t think colleges and universities should equate MOOCs with other courses, I’m no Luddite. I’m happy to see digital humanities breathe life into literary studies, and at one point I took an online class to prepare to teach in that format. Since then I’ve taught several courses entirely online, but the results discouraged me: Committed students did well, but the rest did poorly or vanished.

Although some students have problems in my face-to-face classes, I’m able to intervene and provide help earlier in that format, so far fewer disappear. Currently I use digital resources to enhance the classes I teach, but I have no desire to run a course entirely online again. Therefore I assume that instructors who favor MOOCs have taught online classes with quality equal to or better than their face-to-face classes.

My skepticism about MOOCs also comes from the size of the face-to-face classes I’ve taken and taught. I earned my undergraduate degree at St. John’s University, a small liberal arts college in Minnesota, and I teach English at a similar institution, Aquinas College, in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Almost all my experience comes from classes with 25 or fewer students, but perhaps I would champion MOOCs if I had had educational triumphs while taking and teaching face-to-face courses with hundreds enrolled.

[ Full article available at Inside Higher Ed: http://www.insidehighered.com/views/2013/08/06/essay-mooc-debate-and-what-really-matters-about-teaching ]

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 6, 2013 in MOOCs in the News, Op-Ed

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
