RSS

No Apologies

11 Aug

By Jeffrey Pomerantz

Much to the consternation of my wife, I’m not a big fan of apologies. I’m not interested in hearing public figures apologize. And I don’t generally want people to apologize to me: if you’ve done me wrong, well, just don’t do it again. The damage is done and we all need to move on. Even with my kids, I’d rather have them promise to try not to do something again, than apologize for doing it. (Note to parents: The jury is still out on this as a parenting strategy.)

My personal anti-apology bias aside, though, there really is one thing that you absolutely don’t need to apologize for: dropping out of my MOOC.

By way of background: I’m currently teaching the second offering of a massive open online course about metadata for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, offered through Coursera.

One of the concerns heard from faculty, back when MOOCs were a new idea (all of two years ago), was that they couldn’t possibly keep up with the barrage of emails that would result from having thousands of students. But my experience has been that a MOOC actually results in surprisingly few emails, given that my baseline was the email-to-student ratio from my “traditional” classroom courses. Of the emails I receive from students in my MOOC, however, one of the most common types is the apology for dropping out.

In these emails, complete strangers introduce themselves to me, explain that they were taking my MOOC and enjoying it very much, but that they had to drop out. These individuals were always very apologetic, and expressed regret, remorse, and not a little guilt over having to drop the course.

One student had taken on new responsibilities at work. One student’s family life had become too busy to accommodate time for the course. One student was going to be traveling to a remote part of the world with limited Internet access for several weeks in the middle of the course. One student had a parent who died. Work-life balance was invoked by several students. In other words: life intervened, as it does.

[ Full article available at Inside Higher Ed: https://www.insidehighered.com/views/2014/08/11/essay-calls-end-apologies-about-mooc-dropouts ]

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2014 in MOOCs in the News, Op-Ed

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
