RSS

Tales from a MOOC, Part 1

02 Mar

By Lee Skallerup Bessette

I’m currently taking a MOOC through Canvas on Blended Learning. I’ve been sitting on this particular piece for a while about my previous experience taking MOOCs. There are probably at least two or three more posts, but for this first one, let me reflect on the issue of course design. It’s fully online and not blended, but I think it reflects some thinking on designing the learner experience.

I’m transitioning into a new role, at a center for teaching and learning on a large, R1 campus. I’m excited, as much of my work lately has involved writing and talking and learning about this very subject. But my focus has been relatively narrow: broadly the humanities and more specifically writing and literature, particularly in regards to integrating digital tools effectively in the classroom. I’ve signed up for MOOCs before, but never had the time or fortitude to see them through, sometimes never even logging in for the first time.

But in my new job, I’m being paid to stay up to date and current in the latest scholarship on teaching and learning, not to mention that we are beginning to offer MOOCs through Coursera (How to Succeed in College!), and so I think it is important to not only try to learn something new, but also to experience the platform we are using ourselves. I bite the bullet and sign up for Assessment and Teaching of 21st Century Skills, offered through Coursera by the University of Melbourne. I am particularly interested in the assessment component, as this is always the question faculty ask about when I propose integrating more problem-based or digitally inflected project-based learning.

[ Full article available at Inside Higher Ed: https://www.insidehighered.com/blogs/college-ready-writing/tales-mooc-part-1 ]

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2015 in Op-Ed

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
