RSS

Using MOOCs to Fill In Your Weak Spots

06 Oct

By Hanna Peacock

As a Biomedical Sciences major, I completed the two required “Physics for the Life Sciences” courses during the first year of my undergrad, and never considered those concepts again. Until now. I’m doing my doctorate in cardiovascular science, and the physics of blood flow has become an important element of my experiments. The little I remember from those two courses is far from sufficient for my current project. I’m now trying to teach myself the basics of fluid dynamics so I can properly understand and explain my own project.

It is obvious that there is no perfect suite of courses to take during your undergraduate degree that will prepare you specifically for your grad school projects. Inevitably we find gaping holes in our knowledge and skills, and wind up irritated with our younger selves for shying away from seemingly boring or useless courses during undergrad. Perhaps you even have an interest outside of your project (gasp!), and wish you had taken an elective course or two on it. Now your undergrad is done, and it’s too late to take those courses.

Auditing a course might be an option, but would require you to fit six hours of inconveniently timed lectures around experiments, meetings, and other obligations.

So, what can you do to fill in your weak spots?

The answer is MOOCs: Massive Open Online Courses.

[ Full article available at Inside Higher Ed: https://www.insidehighered.com/blogs/gradhacker/using-moocs-fill-your-weak-spots ]

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2015 in Best Practices

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
